Louise Hawes

Louise Hawes is the author of more than fifteen books for young readers. Waiting for Christopher was named a New York City Public Library Best Book for the Teenage and chosen as one of the top ten best reads by Girls Life. Rosey in the Present Tense was named a Center for Children's Books Best Book and a YALSA Popular Paperback, nominated for South Carolina Young Adult Book of the Year and chosen for the Children's Book Council's Booklist on Trauma and Loss. Her books for middle-graders include fantasy novels, the Nelson Malone books (Winner of the New Jersey Author's Award) and a nonfiction account of the life of American painter Willem deKooning.

Louise has authored short fiction for Prentice Hall's YA fiction text, The Reader Writes the Story and for Simon & Schuster's Love and Sex: Ten Stories of Truth. Other shorts are included in Such a Pretty Face, a YA anthology about beauty from Abrams (2007), and in Be Careful What You Wish For, a middle grade collection from Scholastic (2007).






The Language of Stars, Spring 2016 from Simon & Schuster (Margaret McElderry Books)



Things I'll Never Say, Stories About Our Secret Selves, hardcover and audio out from Candlewick Press in March 2015.

"These stories…reveal the characters' secret selves buried underneath— whether they want them to be shared or not."

Edited by Ann Angel, with stories by Louise Hawes, Ann Angel, Kerry Cohen, Varian Johnson, erika l. kaufman, Ron Koertge, E. M. Kokie, Chris Lynch, Kekla Magoon, Zoë Marriott, Katy Moran, J. L. Powers, Mary Ann Rodman, Cynthia Leitich Smith, and Ellen Wittlinger.


A Flight of Angels, written by Louise Hawes in collaboration with four other YA authors, debuts November 2011. Published by DC Comics/Vertigo, this visual gem includes stories by Louise, as well as Holly Black (Spiderwick Chronicles), Bill Willingham (Fables), Alisa Kwitney, and Todd Mitchell. Illustrations are by famed fantasy painter, Rebecca Guay. Publisher DC Comics calls this graphic novel "a riveting tale in the tradition of  The Decameron and The Canterbury Tales." Each of the collected stories sheds new light on the concept of angels--as heroes, lovers, protectors, and, yes, even killers.


Booklist writes: "Seven gems based on traditional fairy tales make up this collection of unique short stories. In these beautifully written, sometimes harsh retellings, Cinderella craves the deaths of her wicked stepmother and stepsisters; Rapunzel is...Rampion, the deceptive daughter of a kindly witch; and Erin, one of the seven dwarfs, falls in love with Snow White. Each freshly named fairy tale is told from an untraditional
perspective, such as the harp from 'Jack and the Beanstalk,' Gretel in 'Hansel and Gretel,' and a crippled child in 'The Pied Piper.' Twisted, clever, and artfully written, these are a high-quality addition to the fractured fairy tale genre." -review, Black Pearls, 2008


Louise's novel, The Vanishing Point, is available from Houghton Mifflin in hardcover and paper. An historical novel set in Renaissance Italy, the book was an Independent Booksellers' 2004-2005 Booksense Pick, a New York City Public Library Best Book for the Teenage, and garnered a News and Observer Wilde Award for the best new books of 2004; study guide here.

Houghton also published her picture book set in ancient Egypt, Muti's Necklace, in 2006.

Louise, who teaches in the nation's only MFA program in Writing for Children, offers school visits for students of all ages, in-service presentations for teachers, and programs for clubs and conferences.

For more about this author and her books, check out her website at www.louisehawes.com

Email Louise Hawes

Louise on Facebook


Home / News / Who We Are / Baby Pictures / Arrange Visits / Links / Order Books / Downloads

Cat & Mouse from Wild Things, Front Street Books an imprint of Boyds Mills Press © 2009 Clay Carmichael.

Turtles from An Island Scrapbook, Simon & Schuster © 1998 Virginia Wright Frierson

WINC logo © 2005 Consie Powell, WINC emerita

Website © Writers & Illustrators of North Carolina. 2003-2014 

This site hosted by Globe Merchant.